Central Board of Secondary Education

The Central Board of Secondary Education (abbreviated CBSE) is a Board of Education for school level in India of Central Government. The first Board set up in India was the Uttar Pradesh Board of High School and Intermediate Education in 1921, which was under jurisdiction of Rajputana, Central India and Gwalior. In 1929 the government of India set up a joint Board named "Board of High School and Intermediate Education, Rajputana". This included Ajmer, Merwara, Central India and Gwalior. Later it was confined to Ajmer, Bhopal and Vindhya Pradesh. In 1952, it became the "Central Board of Secondary Education". CBSE affiliates all Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalayas, all Kendriya Vidyalayas, private schools, all the schools in the NCT of Delhi and Foreign Schools. The board conducts final examinations every spring for All India Senior School Certificate Examination (AISSCE) for Class 12.The board also annually conducts the AIEEE exam for admission to undergraduate courses in engineering and architecture in numerous colleges spread over India. Presently CBSE has 8 regional offices:

* Delhi: NCT of Delhi, Foreign Schools
* Chennai: Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Goa, Puducherry, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Daman and Diu
* Guwahati: Assam, Nagaland, Manipur, Meghalaya, Tripura, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram
* Ajmer: Rajasthan, Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli
* Panchkula: Haryana, U.T. of Chandigarh, Punjab, J&K, Himachal Pradesh
* Allahabad: Uttar Pradesh, Uttaranchal
* Patna: Bihar, Jharkhand
* Bhubaneswar: West Bengal, Orissa, Chhattisgarh

No comments

Powered by Blogger.